Olympic Torch Relay 2012 Wetherby

OK so it’s nothing to do with shopping, me eating or shoes but a once in a lifetime event near my house, you just can’t pass these things up!

I’ll admit I don’t watch or follow the Olympics religiously like I do with euro or world cup football but still when will I ever see the Olympic torch this close to my face!!

I was surprised at first it came through Wetherby as it’s such a small town and not much happens here -everyone’s nice and polite and that’s about it, but one of the lads that got chosen to carry the torch is actually from Wetherby so got to go and support one of your own!

We went got there early and stood on the bridge to watch it as we thought that’d be the best spot and good job we did get there early cos it packed quickly, it was nice to see so many people out – I didn’t even know there were that many people in Wetherby! Also it’s a really nice day and with my back to the sun for the first hour I felt like I was frying but then the weather started to get a bit dull but luckily it didn’t rain!

First bit of excitement was when we saw a coca-cola bus drive by (yes I’m that sad that I get excited by a decorated bus!)

Image

Lovely skies with the bunting still up from the jubilee on the bridge – ah nice day to out!

Image

I decided as well to be truely british I need a flag!! I had my bunting at home but you can’t really bring that to wave! so to my surprise there were people actually hawking flags and other union jack souvenirs! I really wonder if they follow the torch around the country and make a killing from the people with no flags i.e. me

Image

Image

Nice view from the bridge of the river (Aires?? I think it is- I can’t even remember!)

Image

The crowds are starting to really gather! Not sure why everyone gathers near the mini roundabout and small streets as the you get a much better view from the bridge!

Image

Image

Image

Woah the coca-cola bus is back!

Image

It’s actually quite funny there were loads of random people, bus drivers and policemen on motorbikes just waving to the crowds! We all love a good wave! Best of the lot though had to be the balloon seller who ran up the bridge carrying all his balloons and waving in true Olympic torch style!

Image

So it begins!! The torch is coming……

Image

Image

Olympic bus!! Image

Image

Tbh I’m not really sure what this bus was about or what they were saying, I kind of felt like I was watching some carnival!

Image

Although the back was like yacht – what this has to do with the Olympics is anyones guess!Image

Another coke float! – giving out free coke – managed to get a mini coke and coke zero! STEAL!Image

One of the mascots taking a seat

Image

The other mascot (insert name here) hanging out of a window

Image

Ahhh it’s coming!!

Image

WOAH! GO GEORGE!

Image

aww 13 year old George Stocker, something he’ll remember for the rest of his life! What a huge honour it must’ve been for him and bless him he looked a bit nervous too but I’m sure Wetherby’s proud of him!

Pretty close to the torch!!Image

There he goes!

Image

More waving!

Image

Followed by cyclists

Image

There were 4 other runners in Wetherby, but glad we got to see George as he was the one i’d actually heard about (read something about him when I was queuing in Lloyds TSB!)

Here’s his story

http://www.london2012.com/torch-relay/torchbearers/torchbearers=george-stocker-6835/index.html

Well it may have been quick but well worth the wait I’d say! (When’s it ever going to come to Wetherby again?!)

The aftermath

Image

Some red bull back packs:

Image

Official torch picture:

Image

Now to watch England beat the Ukraine in the euro…

Leave a Reply

